Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Anniversary # 5

Monday, Sept. 11, 2006
4:15 p.m.
Blog entries the world over are going to be taken up with remembrances of this date five years past, the day that terrorists killed thousands of innocents for absolutely no good reason and plunged the world into mourning for the victims, their families, and for the rest of us who were left contemplating the possibility that human beings could conceive of, then plot and then orchestrate such a horrible, horrible action against their fellow humans.

The media replayed videos of the second plane smashing into the second tower, and every single time I saw it, I experienced anew the terror and the grief. I remember an interview with teenagers who said that they had seen it so often it had ceased to have any impact on them. I couldn't understand that. Even now, five years later, I still have to look away, I still feel my heart start racing, the tears rising.

It's not the same as watching thousands die in a tsunami, or a mudslide, or an earthquake. Nature is impersonal. I cannot accept that some people would do this to other people, that they would cause their mass destruction in this way. There is something terribly wrong with the world, with the evolution of our species, if this can happen. I am ashamed to be a member.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>