Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Get me a ticket for an aeroplane, I ain�t got time to take a fast train.

Sunday, Sept. 11, 2005
8:23 p.m.
It is September 11, the fourth anniversary of the terrorist attack on the U.S. by Islamic fundamentalists. Apart from a headline I noticed in today�s paper, I have had no reminders. Hubby�s symphony is supposed to be aired on Tw0 New H0urs tonight on CBC (which you can access by going to their liveaudio website and then clicking on Radi0Tw0 at 10 p.m. eastern time), but that Canadian institution is still on strike and it is doubtful if it will be aired. Try anyway.

Hubby and I worked through some more of the blues songs we�re doing on our concert, transposing the two R0bert J0hnson ones from E to G and G to C respectively as they proved impossible keys for me to sing in, either too low or too high. The allergies were particularly bad today, which meant I had to cut the rehearsal short.

We also went shopping in the morning for supplies for the music department�s annual barbecue in the quad (it used to be at one of the full-time profs� houses, but we decided it was more convenient to do it this way) and when we got home I made Kristina�s potato salad from the M00sewood C00kbook. It was a big hit, as always, and one student asked me for the recipe. I started the barbecue too early, which meant that it had already burned too low when people started cooking, so one of the students and I drove all over L�ville and Sh�brooke looking for charcoal briquettes and found none. He and Hubby ended up going to our place and chopping firewood so people could finish cooking their suppers.

Hubby also brought musical instruments and amplifiers, and he and several other students set up a platform on the grass, brought out the drum kit and a keyboard, and had a wail (whale? wale?) of a time. Buddy Boy was especially in his element, rocking with university students. They were quite complimentary about his abilities. One of them said that he was �already shredding it�, which I take as a good thing. We also supplied a frisbee and football, and the kids threw them around in the quad.

It was a fun happening. We have a good bunch of students this year. I�m almost looking forward to it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>