Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I hate rude awakenings.

Friday, Nov. 12, 2004
9:33 a.m.
Not having set my alarm this morning, knowing that a leisurely waking-up was to be mine since Buddy Boy wasn�t going to school today, I was rudely awakened at 7 a.m. by a telephone call from the garage door people who informed me they would indeed send someone over this morning so I could be out of the house by noon. Thank you so much.

There was no Latin class yesterday. Patsy had emergency laser surgery on Wednesday (thus her absence from writing group) to repair a small tear in her retina, which would account for the seeing of spots last week. She is much relieved, and I have admonished her that she must start eating green vegetables in abundance, at least twice a week. Lutein is a must!

Yesterday in choir we went over the movement with my solo, and everyone was suitably blown away by my high sustained As. I was also blown away, or more properly, out, since I actually got nervous. My heart was thumping and sweat broke out on my brow. The second time through was absolutely no problem. I just don�t know what came over me. Oh well, if I�m over it now, by the time the actual concerts happen I�ll be cool as the proverbial cucumber.

We also sang all the way through the Willan, minus the �angel� choir sections, and it was glorious. The choir still has miles to go before it sleeps, but the music is so wonderful and it�s obvious how much the kids love this piece. It is a pure joy to sing.

I begged off belly dancing last night so I could clean the main floor of the house for guests after the concert tonight. I popped an antihistamine first. Hubby has suddenly been under the weather, getting hit by an all-over achiness that sounds to me too much like the flu. He actually slept for an hour on his office floor, not a comfortable proposition, so that he would have the energy to teach his electronic music class. Not good news, since we have a dress rehearsal this afternoon after the studio recital, and our concert is tonight. This is what drugs are for. When I asked him if he took echinacea the day before as I had suggested, he had to admit that he hadn�t. He is of the opinion that it only works if you believe in it, and since he doesn�t believe in it he won�t take it, so he doesn�t have the opportunity to find out if it works or not. Go figure!

In the meantime, surrounded by Buddy Boy with his sore throat (it�s better today) and Hubby with his general malaise and one student after another with different maladies (sore throat, tonsilitis, cough), I am living on the stuff and keeping the proverbial fingers crossed (they have to be only proverbial since I would find it very difficult to type in that position) that I don�t get sick. The time table is now such that I am not allowed any respiratory ailment before December 11, since the choir concerts are December 3 and 4 and the UpIands MusicaI Society concerts the week after. Then I may fall apart, but not before.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>