Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Why can�t things be simple?

Wednesday, May 11, 2005
11:10 a.m.
Why must things be complicated? I took the Subaru to the dealership for a 9:00 a.m. appointment to have the windshield wipers looked at and the side mirrors tightened, and was told, �Oh, it shouldn�t be more than an hour,� so I took myself outside into the sunshine and walked over to CPC, which stands for c�est pas cher which means in French �it�s not expensive�, to see if they could tempt me to spend any money. They were unsuccessful. I really hate shopping, and I especially hate clothing stores that are loaded with schlock. To my credit, I did try something on, but it looked terrible (I hate being short!) so I decided that was that.

Anyway, I got back to the dealership within the allotted hour and was informed by the nice young man (who spoke no English, by the way, thus further testing my abilities to stay focused) that in order to fix the mirrors they had to take the doors off. Oy. Also, in order to determine what was wrong with the wipers, it started getting very complicated because the motor is underneath a whole bunch of other stuff under the hood. The upshot, after waiting another half-hour watching a cooking show in French, is that three screws that hold the motor in place are missing, and it�ll take a lot longer to rectify the situation. Time = $$$ Simple math, folks. I�m just hoping that it�s still under the warranty. If it is, great. If it�s not, I should have got the work done by my regular mechanic, who charges a third less than these charlatans. Bleh. I won�t know until I get the bill.

In the meantime, the nice man employed for this purpose drove me home, where I learned that one of the universities my daughter applied to has offered her a whopping big scholarship, which is quite a compliment considering everything, but it is still a better deal for her to stay at home and go to Bushop�s where her tuition is waived and she is still getting a yearly scholarship (provided she keeps a specified high average, which is the case at the other place too), and she�s got this plum of a summer job doing research for the astrophysics prof. So I think she�ll say thank you, but no thank you.

This wasn�t much of an inspirational entry, was it? I�ll try harder tomorrow.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>