Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Get a room! Not that room!

Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
4:10 p.m.
Today I did a load of laundry, walked in on my daughter and her boyfriend, and finally emptied the compost buckets into the composter in the backyard. Yes, there were four filled buckets on the deck that had been there for months and one totally overflowing one on the kitchen counter and, since the weather is particularly balmy today, I donned my boots and headed out behind the garage where I dumped the stinking messes into the almost-filled compost container, the resulting mass of decomposing detritus reaching practically to the upper edge.

Oh, that�s not what you wanted to hear about? Let�s see, was it the laundry? I have a very large load of darks on, half now folded neatly in the basket and the other half still going around in the dryer.

Our house has been overrun by teenagers today, Buddy Boy having had three or four (I lost track) of his friends over to finish filming a video on WW II for his history class. They were making all sorts of strange sounds in the cold cellar (I imagine they were pretending it was a bunker) and I look forward to seeing the finished product when Buddy Boy has done all the editing.

At some point the BF arrived, but I was upstairs starting on copying the piano reduction on the computer of the viola concerto Hubby did last year when we were in Tobago. The boys had made themselves pizza (the aroma of which filled the house), Little Princess had very loud music playing behind her closed bedroom door, and Hubby was practising guitar in the attic (where I also was) and the telephone kept ringing, and I was the only one who seemed to be answering it, and it was never for me.

So, yes, you guessed it, the phone rang and it was for Little Princess, so I shouted to her to get it, but she didn�t hear me (remember the loud music?), so I went down to the next level and knocked on her bedroom door and said, �Phone!� She didn�t respond right away, and I thought perhaps she hadn�t heard, so I opened her door a crack and observed her BF rather scantily clad on the bed and heard my daughter gasp, �Oh dear!� So I quickly shut the door, but I couldn�t help smiling to myself remembering when my father walked in on me and my boyfriend in the same compromising situation (except that we were fully under the covers, so there was nothing to be seen), and thinking that this was exactly the reason why we told her that there was to be no hanky-panky under our roof when we were home. She doesn�t have a lock on her door. What was she thinking?

Anyway, now that I�ve got that off my chest (giggle), I guess I can get back to my laundry.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>