Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Red wine on a summer’s evening

Monday, Jun. 11, 2007
9:12 p.m.
We had our last belly dancing class of the season this evening. Lise had red wine for us and we spent an hour just sitting and chatting. It was really very nice, but it only left us with a half-hour to do a bit of technique. It was very hot and of course the wine hadn’t helped much, and I’m at that time of the month (I always seem to be at that time of the month these days) when my legs were aching, so I don’t really know how much benefit I got out of it.

There was something very important I forgot to mention about Sunday’s presentation. At the end of the afternoon show, when all 65 ladies were onstage soaking up the thunderous applause, there was a loud bang and out of the blue it started raining confetti and streamers. We were all rather taken by surprise. There was no such excess after the evening show.

I stopped at the brûlerie to buy coffee on my way back, and Wellington Street looked so festive. There were people sitting at outside tables, drinking coffee or other beverages, enjoying the warm evening. It was so inviting, I would have liked to have stopped and done the same thing, but I needed to get a move on and buy some groceries before coming home, whereupon I had to take in the laundry which had been left out all afternoon. So I let the kids empty the trunk and put the food away while I deftly folded and brought in the clean, starting to get damp again, clothes.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>