Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I can�t believe I ate the whole thing.

Saturday, June 11, 2005
11:25 p.m.
It has been a very long day, spent mostly in the pursuit of culinary excellence. While the news that M. could not have garlic or onion struck me a heavy blow last night, this morning I had already come to terms with the problem and worked out some very satisfactory solutions. However, the fact that T. and M.�s grown son and his girlfriend were coming meant that I might not have enough salmon. So, after a morning spent literally slaving over a hot stove, I dropped Hubby off at convocation, where he suffered his own brand of torture, sitting in a sweltering auditorium wearing an acetate robe for hours, and headed over to Costco to refill our barbecue propane tank and get some trout fillets, just to be on the safe side.

Convocation let out late (speeches, endless speeches) and Little Princess and her boyfriend and I waited in the dining hall for the hordes to issue forth from the rec centre and descend upon the waiting drinks and quarter sandwiches. I got to greet many of our gaduating students, including my soprano with whom I must make a lunch date before she leaves for home. We returned home to get the rest of dinner ready and our guests eventually arrived around 7 p.m.

Dinner was a great success. Everything was wonderful and there was much hilarity. We ate on the freshly pressure washed deck, where there was room to set up two tables now that the telescope house has been moved, and when the Duke and Duchess arrived for dessert with their two ducklings, I ended up sitting at the �kid�s� table and having an absolute piss riot while Buddy Boy held the floor, keeping us incredibly entertained.

As I type this I hear the swishing of the dishwasher and the tapping of the June bugs as they attempt to enter the house through the solid panes of glass. They�re really not too bright, we�ve decided. I�m sorry that I missed Friendship Day. We saw the fireworks bursting through the trees while we sat on the deck feeding the resident mosquitoes. But it was worth it to see our friends, and there�s always next year.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>