Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Yarn

Saturday, Jul. 11, 2009
9:12 p.m.
Little Princess went to see her grandmother today. Because of the quarantine, she wasn’t allowed upstairs, but the receptionist said she could call, and then the two of them could “sneak” out of the building, so that’s what they did.

They crossed the street and sat on the bench in the parkette where my mother and I sat a few weeks ago. Little Princess produced the knitting needles and yarn she had brought with her, and my mother was able to cast on a row and started working a few rows in seed stitch under her granddaughter’s watchful eye. Because of her vision deficiencies, she was dropping stitches and running into problems, but as she got going, the knitting got easier.

However, the best part was that as she worked with her hands at a craft that she knew so well, her mind also started working better, and she began reminiscing, telling my daughter how she met my father, and talking about people whom just a few days ago she said she had never met. I’m glad I thought of this, and I’m grateful to my Little Princess for implementing it.

My brother also phoned me this morning and after a long conversation, he emailed the head nurse asking her to speak to the doctor on staff about changing my mother’s memory medication as the one she’s on seems to have done all it’s able to do, and it’s not enough. The quarantine is a bummer, but hopefully the knitting and different medication will help.

The morning was glorious, sunny and hot, and I should have taken advantage of it and hung out laundry and worked in the yard, but I didn’t. This afternoon the heavens opened and we’ve had rain ever since, quite a lot of rain, in fact. Buddy Boy had left his window open and I almost slipped and fell on a puddle in the bathroom when I went in there to close that window. The rest of the week is supposed to be nice, so I’ve got my fingers crossed.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>