Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

What I didn’t tell you.

Wednesday, Jul. 11, 2007
7:28 p.m.
There were so many things I didn’t write about yesterday, like spraying RoundUp on the vegetation growing through the bricks that form the sidewalk in front of our porch, separating the grass from the overgrown flower beds, and coming upon the remains of some carnivore’s lunch on the back deck, two skinned and partially eviscerated (it was the partially part which got me) objects which may have been mice when they were alive. I removed them, but not without being rather upset by it, so upset that I put it to the back of my mind and forgot about it entirely.

I didn’t mention that Hubby and I got up extra early to call CAA to tow our Volvo to the garage. Sure, we could have driven it, but then the brakes may have totally failed as we went up one of those really steep hills in Sh’brooke, so best to have it carried. The driver really knew his job well, depositing said sick car in a parking spot in front of the mechanic’s, totally blocking the street, but the Volvo was perfectly parked.

Nor did I inform you all of how Hubby and I picked up the family tree he had researched and had Little Princess create in PowerPoint from the printshop, 11 inches wide by 37 inches long, which we then took to a framing place to have laminated, along with Buddy Boy’s black belt certificate to be framed, the one costing half what the other cost, even though it’s more than twice as big. The family tree is for Hubby’s dad’s 80th birthday this month. I told him that as soon as his brothers and sister get a load of it, they’re going to want one too.

I forgot to mention that a woman, a friend of the clarinettist in the regular band that plays at the bar we were at last night, prevailed upon him to let her sing two or three numbers. She was terrible. No, seriously, she was out of tune, had no sense of rhythm, a smoker’s voice, and we (Little Princess, her BF, a few more of their friends, a friend of Hubby’s and I) were just cringeing. When she was finally done, Hubby called me up and I sang a couple of songs with the band, Satin Doll, to which I had forgotten most of the words and ended up scatting practically all of it, and Misty, which Hubby normally plays a minor third higher with a capo, of which he was not in possession last night, and I found it extremely low, but everyone thought it was fabulous nonetheless. Well, I didn’t have a very hard act to follow.

Today we got the rain back. Hubby cut the grass directly in front of the house and the heavens opened. I started sweeping the debris off the driveway (we have cracks which the pavers are supposed to come and have a look at) and got disheartened when I saw that ants were coming through in places with their little sand hills. This is a relatively new asphalt driveway. Otherwise I took it easy, having a long bubble bath and an even longer nap. I am dosing myself with echinacea, determined not to get sick with this lovely cold Buddy Boy brought home with him from camp, and have so far avoided it, but I’m still a little tired and headachey. This too shall pass.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>