Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Everything’s coming up babies...

Friday, Jan. 11, 2008
8:49 p.m.
My daughter is a nerd, and on one of her birthdays past, her BF gave her a binary clock. This is a device with flashing lights which means absolutely nothing to me, but somehow she can tell time with it (her clock doesn’t have a digital readout underneath the lights). I just walked by her room and the lights were making a design that resembled a prehistoric cave drawing of a horse, or some such similar animal. I thought it was pretty neat.

But that isn’t why I called you to this meeting. Actually, I don’t really know what I want to write about in this space. My own life seems pretty dull at the moment, although the tectonic plates are moving and could be swinging into some pretty interesting positions which will determine the future. We had our first choir practice yesterday and I was supposed to rehearse with Ms. Piano today, but she cancelled because of a gastro infection. So I asked Ed (to whom I was chatting online) if he wanted to “do lunch”, which he did, so he came and picked up me and Little Princess (who had arrived home with her father--I hadn’t seen her for two days [except briefly in choir yesterday]--after her class), and we all went to the Captain where he and I had phò and she had tea. This was followed by a wild goose chase as Ed looked for votive candles in vain, then back to our house where we drank flower tea and Little Princess crocheted and I attempted the NYTimes crossword (also in vain).

However, I do have news. It seems to be baby season. My friend Will Somers (not his real name) and his wife from the English Midlands had a baby boy today and, as an honorary auntie, I am thrilled! Congrats, my friend! Watch the mailbox. A little something from Canada will be winging its way to you soon.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>