Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It’s nice to feel wanted.

Thursday, Jan. 11, 2007
7:30 p.m.
It would appear that our family is split down the middle when it comes to soupe tonkinoise. I took Buddy Boy to the Captain’s for lunch today and to introduce him to the delight that is pho, and he was less than delighted, so much less so that he wouldn’t finish his. Oh well. I enjoyed myself, nonetheless. We talked about our favourite British TV show of all time, Red Dwarf, and he said that it provided conversation fodder with the English guys who had come over to help recreate the WWII scenes they filmed last summer at St-Brun0. That show always scores me a few points with my UK online friends as well.

There was an email from the CBC Literary Awards in my inbox today, informing me that the shortlisted stories were posted on their website, and so I quickly zoomed over there, only to find that mine was not among them. I guess this means that it’s mine to do with as I wish, that I can now “publish” it online if I wish. So, I might do so, and link to it in the sidebar. All right?

There was fallout, as I knew there would be, from my decision to drop Latin. I was chatting with Ed online last night, and he did a tarot reading for me, which more or less confirmed that my decision was a good one, that I had derived much enjoyment from the pursuit of Latin in the past, but that lately it had become bothersome, and that it was a good thing that I set it aside for now. That’s the great thing about tarot cards, they’ll say anything you want them to. I had emailed the prof as follows:

Dear C:

I’ve decided that I won’t be taking Latin this semester. It was quite sudden, my decision, that is, but I realized that I can’t face another term of Latin right now. Perhaps after I’ve had a bit of a break I can come back to it.

Sorry about that.

All the best,

Elgan


Her response was in my inbox this morning:
Oh no! Won’t you give it a bit longer before deciding to drop? I think it’ll be a really fun class, and you’d make it so much livelier. I’d really like it if you reconsidered.
- C

It’s nice to feel wanted. However, I’m not changing my mind. One of my former fellow classmates told me in choir that she too has dropped the course and that Patsy will be offering it next winter term. So, I can wait a year and take it with her.

On the teaching of singing front, I’ve arranged my lessons with my two Bushop’s students, and my one ChampIain student, and after choir today Herr Doktor Professor directed a young business student to me because someone, sometime, told him he might be a countertenor and he didn’t know what to do about it. So I agreed to meet with him on Monday morning, and we’ll see what he’s got.

All in all, not a bad day’s work.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>