Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Mark it with tea.

Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2007
11:04 p.m.
It being the last night of Chanukah, I made latkes again. The whole house is still redolent with the smell of potato pancakes frying in hot oil. We had them with apple sauce and yogurt and a salad of romaine and red curly lettuce, celery, diced pears, feta cheese and walnuts, topped with my homemade lemon dressing. The menorah blazed away with all candles lit. Who could ask for anything more? Well, it would have been nice if Little Princess had been there, but she opted to stay at her BF’s.

I had my last belly dancing class of 2007 last night. My instructor’s belly is really starting to swell and she won’t be teaching us next term. I don’t know what’s going to happen with this course. I joined my husband and kids and the BF at the Lion afterwards where they had been celebrating the end of exams with a pitcher of Pride. There was only a half-glass for me, and it was too late to order another pitcher. I ended up driving anyway.

Today I finally got the marks for my students written up. I only have six of them, but it seemed like a daunting task. Halfway through I had to take a nap on the living room couch in front of the wood stove. What is difficult is finding constructive and instructive things to say on the comment sheet, and then assigning a mark that reflects the student’s progress. I don’t want to crush anyone nor offer praise where it’s not warranted, but I don’t want to lie outright either.

Ed came over after supper to give me a small seasonal gift. It consisted of a selection of flower teas, a personalized fortune cookie (the fortune said something about spending many pleasant evenings drinking tea), and a licorice-flavoured candy stick. I made a pot of mint tisane and served him the second-last portion of baklava left over from my husband’s party on Saturday. I was really touched that he would get me a gift. But he has said on several occasions that I am a valued friend. I appreciate that.

Tomorrow will be spent doing last minute things around the house and submitting those marks before we head off to southern climes. I’ll try to update before we leave.

Tally ho!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>