Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Gaudete

Sunday, Dec. 11, 2005
5:04 p.m.
Last night�s smoke left a burning sensation in my throat which ended up causing some distress at my UpIands rehearsal this afternoon. I tried warming up this morning with little success at clearing away the fog that seemed to be coating my whole laryngeal area, but at least I finally finished my Latin grammar and it�s ready for handing in tomorrow. Now I must get to work on my Livy translation.

Little Princess and I went skating again today, and I fell again, this time on my left hip, which is quite tender (I haven�t checked yet to see what kind of bruise I have developing) and in the process I think I pulled something in my right pelvic socket. Delightful. At our rehearsal Herr Doktor and I bemoaned the fact that we weren�t supposed to get old, that ours was the generation that didn�t trust anyone over 30, remember. But the skating was fun nonetheless. This time, besides me and my daughter, one of our jazz guitar students and another young fellow I�ve known since he was two when we first moved here joined us. As well, a music student here from Mexico was out on skates for the first time in his life, and did creditably well.

The temperature was definitely higher outside than in the arena, the sun shining and snow melting. It�s dropped again, however. This is the great white north, remember.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>