Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Happy 87th Birthday, Mummy!

Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2006
12:40 p.m.
As with the dreams I related yesterday which I actually had the previous night, I seem to be a day behind with my stories. There was a good one waiting to be told yesterday, and I totally forgot about it in all the fatigue engendered by post-concert revelry. But I did remember, and I�m telling it now.

When I got home at 1 a.m. after said post-concert revelry, I checked my email (and read diaries) before turning off the computer and going to bed, and found a missive in my inbox from an old boyfriend, someone I hadn�t seen since my marriage nearly 24 years ago. I had often wondered what happened to JC , but his name is so incredibly common that any Google search came up with too many possibilities to investigate.

Anyway, he found my name and email address on an internet site sponsored by the American Federati0n of Musicians, a recent listing I had provided for myself as a music copyist and vocalist, although I had totally forgotten about it and didn�t recognize the name when he mentioned it, and decided to take a chance and get in touch. I wrote him back immediately, saying I was thrilled he had made contact, and gave a quick recap of my life since we last met, and asked about him. He answered by �return post�.

It turns out that soon after Hubby and I tied the knot he made aliyah (which means that he immigrated to Israel and became a citizen through the Law of Return, which states that all Jews are automatically citizens of the Jewish state, should they choose to live there), but returned to North America before the decade was out, moving to San Francisco where he began a career in technology. He met and married the wrong person, moved to Ann Arb0r where he found his career job, divorced, floundered around for a while, moved to Toronto where he met the right person and married her, and they now have two little girls and he still works as a software engineer in Ann Arb0r, but telecommutes, as they say.

When I knew him he was a rather good flutist and had a penchant for composing. He says that he plays guitar in a couple of bands and does some studio work, but has totally lost interest in classical music. I am just so thrilled that he contacted me. Next trip to Toronto, I will definitely look him up.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>