Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Getting over the hump

Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2007
10:10 p.m.
I think I mentioned last week my German exchange soprano. Today I told her what a gift she was to me, that I have been assigned all these beginning students who can’t or can barely read music (even my music minor is in this boat), and here she is, musically literate, determined to do well, having already learned the song assigned and practised it with her pianist roommate, and I am in raptures. If the guy in the office upstairs thought he was doing me a nasty by assigning me only beginners, he sure screwed up when it came to this one. As it turns out, by telling her how highly I prized her I made her day, which up till then had gone rather badly.

Other than that, my day was unremarkable. The weather is still unseasonable, although there is a definite chill in the air and the leaves are starting to change quickly now. Walking home from the university, I was sorry I hadn’t brought my camera. The sky was gray with patches of blue showing through, the sunlight at an oblique angle, and the coloured trees luminous. I do, however, have a photo from yesterday, which will have to do instead.

DSC02481

|

<~~~ * ~~~>