Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The real reason why older women pursue younger men.

Wednesday, Jun. 10, 2009
11:30 p.m.
Buddy Boy and I adjourned to the deck after supper, where we enjoyed a warm evening after a day full of cold rain. He asked me what I thought of this thing called “life” and I thought long and hard before answering him, because I like to be honest with my children, but too much honesty is not always a desirable thing.

I said that life is great, and we make the best of it, but sometimes things work out in ways we don’t expect. For instance, a person can decide later in life, after having been very successful at one particular thing, that he wants to do something different. It’s not that he no longer enjoys what he does, or that it isn’t still satisfying and productive, but an opportunity comes up to try something different and he feels a very strong urge to see that new thing through.

The problem lies in that the new thing might not work out in the long run. After all, this is always a possibility. If he finds that he doesn’t succeed in what he left his old life for, he may find that he has nothing to return to. So he ends up having lost everything. But if he doesn’t pursue that opportunity, he will always feel that he missed out on something.

The example I gave Buddy Boy was career related, but it could be applied to just about any aspect of our lives. I don’t know what he gleaned from my words. At age 20, he’s not really going to understand too well what I’m getting at, and perhaps it’s best that way.

Ed came over for supper tonight. Little Princess had crocheted him a stuffed representation of his favourite Lovecraftian monster, and he thought it was adorable. I boiled up a bag of potato-and-cottage-cheese-stuffed perogies, and sautéed them in the wok with onions and garlic fried up in olive oil with dill weed, dill seed, parsley, salt, pepper, and a sparse smattering of caraway seeds. It really was rather delicious.

Afterwards, Buddy Boy and I were joined outside by Hubby, Little Princess and our guest, and we drank tea and talked about some rather strange things, including how the hormone testosterone alone is mainly responsible for sexual arousal, which is why menopausal women will experience greater libido and aging men will experience less. There were other topics, believe me, but that’s the one I remember.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>