Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The rain in June falls mainly at inopportune moments.

Friday, June 10, 2005
9:30 p.m.
Many years ago I potted several lemon trees, starting in the garden from seeds in the compost, and two are still alive and well. One of them surprises me every year or so by putting forth a single blossom, once even creating an enormous lemon which was incredibly cool to look at, but proved an absolute dud when I finally plucked it and cut it open. This tree, now sitting by a westward-facing window next to our clothes closets, has surprised me yet again with its lone flower. I don�t know why it produces just one, putting all its energies into the creation of a gigantic, inedible fruit, but it�s enough of a miracle in itself that I have ceased to question it, rather accepting the beauty of it for itself.

Today was spent cleaning the living room. I dusted all surfaces and knicknacks with a damp cloth, and vacuumed the furniture (I can�t remember when I last did that), even climbing on chairs to get the thick layer of dust that had accumulated on top of the stereo cabinet and book case. The fireplace has been cleaned out and the upholstery has been sprayed with a grapefruit-scented ammonia mixture which is supposed to get rid of the odours human beings leave behind. Tomorrow I will damp mop the floors and clean the kitchen, but I�ll be cooking, so there�s no point in doing that job first.

Hubby and Buddy Boy took turns using the new spray washer to clean the deck. It hasn�t looked this good since it was new. We have a fiberglass surface with PVC railings, guaranteed for ten years against deterioration, and we�re hoping to stretch that out as long as we can. Our first wooden plank deck disintegrated around the nails that held it together. There are still spots which are stained, like underneath the barbecue from the grease, but it looks so much better than it did.

I just found out that the wife of the soon-to-be professor emeritus has recently developed an allergy to garlic and onion. This has struck me quite a blow, since garlic is the main seasoning in most of my cooking. I guess I�ll be setting some things aside and leaving them rather bland. Also, their son and his girlfriend are coming, which means I may not have enough salmon. I guess a quick trip to the fish market is in order. I absolutely hate surprises when I�m preparing a dinner party. We�re looking at a possible dozen for dinner. Deep breaths.

Last but not least, my daughter�s band battled it out with other local groups for the privilege of playing at Friendship Day tomorrow. We only stayed for them (they played third), but if the other bands who came after were in any way like the two which preceded them, they�re a shoo-in. The weather went from sunny to stormy as we sat having our eardrums deafened. It is now pouring out there, perfect electrocution conditions.

Unfortunately I won�t be able to attend any of the annual Friendship Day festivities tomorrow. I shall miss the parade and the crafts and the various fun activities under the tent, and most likely the fireworks too (they and the parade are my favourite parts). I�m even contemplating taking a pass on convocation since I have all this cooking and the rest of the cleaning to do. We shall see.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>