Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Some Canned Heat would be nice about now.

Saturday, Jan. 10, 2009
9:33 a.m.
Didn’t I just say that I was going to get back to updating my diary daily? I am such a bad monkey. It’s not that I don’t spend hours (yes, folks, hours) at the computer farting around, I just haven’t been writing that much. Mostly I play games and chat with people. I also do actual work, copying music work, but that’s not writing either.

Anyway, last night I told Hubby I was going to write a story, so I sat down here and started typing. You see, several months ago my dear friend Kathy introduced me to an online group of women writers who read and critique each other’s work. The rule is: submit two, critique four. My first month as a member (October) I tried to do that. My second I submitted two, critiqued three, and in December I did absolutely nothing. The leader of the pack has been extremely kind and sympathetic, especially as she knows that I have been going through a rough patch of late with my mother and other family issues, and has encouraged me to write about my experiences. So I thought I would.

I wrote about one and-a-half pages last night. There are a few problems. One, I really write better when I have a pen in my hand and paper under it. Two, when I write at the computer, there are just too many distractions. Three, and probably most significant, when I write about personal matters, I get to experience them all over again, and then I wallow in sentiment. So even though I ended up with a page and-a-half, I actually wrote much more which got backspaced out. But I made a start, and hopefully I will have something that I can submit to the group that will explain to a certain extent my non-participation in it of late.

So, how does that go to explain why I haven’t been writing here? In a recent entry, harri3tspy talked about the need to write less in her blog and more on her dissertation. Actually, that wasn’t what she wrote about at all, but that was what I inferred. I must say that the more blogging I do, the less creative writing I do. One seems to take away from the other, or at least be an excuse, a distraction. But I’m not sure if that’s a bad thing or not.

Oftentimes (most of the time) the only writing I do is in my diary. Without that I would remain mute. Then something happens that encourages me to really try to be a “writer”, such as the message I received from a fellow member of elft0wn.com who liked a poem I submitted there enough to want to set it for singer and orchestra. It’s a good poem, at least good enough for that purpose. I don’t think of myself as a poet, per se, but every so often I produce something I think well enough of to share.

Anyway, I’ve rambled long enough on that subject. In the news, briefly, Hubby and I took the Subaru to the garage yesterday to have the alternator belt (and some other things) replaced because the electrical system went haywire. I picked up an add/drop form to enroll in Spanish II but the prof wasn’t there to sign it. It got cold again. Oh, and I’ve started compiling the songs and lyrics for February’s blues concert. Now that I have a dress, I can get to the important stuff.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>