Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Breathe...

Wednesday, Feb. 10, 2010
10:56 p.m.
The phone rang at 4:17 a.m., waking me from a sound sleep. It was my mom.

“El? Where are you?”

“I’m at home. I was in bed.”

“Oh, you were in bed?”

“Yes, it’s quarter-past four in the morning.”

“It is? Then I’ve been up all night!”

I told her I loved her, wished her good night, and then lay awake, unable to sleep. That interchange has affected my whole day.

Yesterday she called me and told me that her watch was broken and Uncle Morris had it. Uncle Morris was her father’s brother, a watchmaker by trade, as was her father. Then she told me that the house on Delaware Avenue has been sold. She wasn’t happy about it, but there was nothing she could do about it. This is the house she grew up in, which her parents left in the late 50s.

Little Princess went to see her and said that after about two hours, she was making up all sorts of crazy stuff. She no longer eats in the big dining room, but is now in the small room on the second floor. My heart is shredding as I write this. I’ve already had a good cry today.

Hubby and I had probably one of the worst fights of our marriage yet tonight. He doesn’t listen to me, and I say hurtful things and he gets angry. I really didn’t need this just now. It’s going to be a while before we feel like we’re not walking on eggshells around each other.

Life sucks, you know?



|

<~~~ * ~~~>