Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Out of a clear blue sky...

Sunday, Aug. 10, 2008
6:22 p.m.
I sit here with a very strange sensation in my stomach. Tomorrow I will take the bus to T.O. so that I can help in the removal of my mother from the house where she has lived for the past 58 years to a retirement home. She has made certain decisions about what she wants to take with her, but on other matters she is totally clueless. She wants to take a certain china cabinet, but hasn’t thought about how she’ll need to wrap up and pack the china that goes in it. It’s not like she really needs any dishes since she’ll be taking all her meals in the residence dining room, but she wants to be able to have people in for tea.

My brother finally got back to me, saying that he had the move covered and what he needed was for me to help my mother settle into the new place, have dinner with her there, and take her to a doctor’s appointment the next morning. I can do those things, and wrote him back to say that, but I also said that I would be arriving tomorrow evening by bus, wouldn’t have a car, and I still didn’t know what my mother’s rôle is in this move, if he wants her there or if she is to be distracted or removed altogether. I asked him for more information and left it at that.

Well, what do you know? After a day of glorious sunshine, it just started raining. Amazing! Will wonders never cease?



|

<~~~ * ~~~>