Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Caught up, for now.

Friday, Jun. 25, 2004
1:09 p.m.
I am now (temporarily) caught up with Hubby�s prodigious pencil, so feel justified in updating my diary. While I was working at one end of the attic, Buddy Boy was over at the other playing on the laptop and keeping me aurally entertained. He has one of these military strategy games based on WWII models, so he�s busily setting up armies, invading countries and trying to take over the world. Fortunately the makers of the game have included a sound track of classical music (mostly movements, not full pieces) which is much more pleasant to listen to than exploding noises as bombs go off and the sounds of troop movements. There�s a movement from the Concierto di Aranjuez by Rodrigo, the Ride of the Valkyries by Wagner, the slow movement from a beautiful baroque flute concerto whose identity is on the tip of my tongue, In the Hall of the Mountain King by Grieg, a movement from Berlioz�s Symphonie fantastique, and my all-time favourite The Great Gate of Kiev from Ravel�s orchestration of Mussorgsky�s Pictures at an Exhibition. There are other pieces too, but these are the ones I kept hearing over and over this morning. Interestingly, the second-last movement of Pictures is on there too but, because the program has the pieces set to play randomly, it will play on its own, not sequeing into the Gate section. When the two come together, in the right order, it is truly a satisfying experience.

I�m headed off to Costco this afternoon to return the barrel of olives which I purchased the day before yesterday. It�s hit and miss with these things. We�ve had absolutely fabulous batches, and then the last one which I made tapenade out of, and now these, which are overripe and mushy. While I�m at it I�ll visit my good friend Yves R�cher at the mall and use my 1/2-price coupon.

By the way, since installing the site meter that I lifted from harri3tspy�s site (thanks harri3t), I�ve discovered that people do find me through devious means. For instance, someone googled Heidenr�slein and arrived at one of my entries. Today someone found me through a search for Yamaha FG180. Amazing. I wonder how many hits I�ll get as a result of the names of composers and their works listed above.

There should be enough hot water now for me to have my bath, and then I�m off to do errands. Toodles!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>