Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Several complaints on one page

Thursday, Jun. 24, 2004
3:43 p.m.
According to a quiz I just took over here, this is how I ought to vote in the upcoming federal election:

Jack Layt�n, Leader of the New Dem�cratic Party of Canada (score = 100)

Gi11es Duceppe, Leader of the Bl�c Qu�becois (score = 78)

Pau1 Martin, Leader of the Libera1 Party of Canada, Prime Minister of Canada (score = 52)

Stephen H@rper, Leader of the C�nservative Party of Canada (score = 13)

I guess these quiz makers know my politics better than I do.

At Mr. Beatty�s barbershop yesterday we got to talking about how the Liberal candidate for our area is on his way out, which is really too bad. David Pri�e started out as the C�nservative member for the riding just south of us, and when things started to get weird with that party (I�m sure there�s a link somewhere that outlines the emergence of the Canadian A11iance and all the shite connected to the split and remerger of our right-wing party, but I just can�t be bothered to look for it right now) he crossed the floor and joined the Libera1s. Now the electoral boundaries have been changed yet again, and David finds himself in the middle of Bl�c territory. Oops! Bad move, David! He�s one man I would vote for, he was even mayor of L�ville once! But his days are numbered, or so Mr. Beatty says.

The viola concerto comes on apace, causing me no end of frustration and the feeling that I�m slowly going blind. Hubby is getting more �interesting� in his composition, using more and more made-up symbols to evoke certain responses from the players. Unfortunately, I, the copyist, have to invent these from scratch if they do not already exist in the various fonts I have available to me, and then I have to insert them into the score/part. It is very time consuming. He is also using lots of divisi and clusters; you know, stems up and down. These are extremely difficult to space properly. He keeps telling me I should upgrade Finale, which of course would entail purchasing a more powerful computer, something I don�t want to do. I don�t see how this would change anything. Even if there are more symbols in the newer programs, I would still have to tweak them individually.

Anyway, he doesn�t want to hear about my problems because he feels that my complaining causes him to limit his creative freedom to suit my limitations. I must say that there are no lack of challenges in what he�s giving me to copy. I tried to explain that I�m not complaining about his music, as I�m sure it�s quite beautiful. It�s just the amount of time and concentration it takes to copy this stuff, so I can�t be quick, the way I am with normal notation. So, no more complaining, just inward seething and occasional diary dumping; and lots of break taking too.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>