Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Two sets of comics today.

Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2004
9:03 a.m.
The twenty-third of the month is always special to me: my birthday is on a 23rd, as is my daughter�s, my brother�s, my brothers-in-law�s, I first got my period on a 23rd (as did my daughter), and in Qu�bec June 23 is always the last day of school. That�s because tomorrow is St. John-the-Baptist Day, or la f�te nationale. Oh yes, we also celebrate Canada Day next week with the rest of the country, but this here day off replaces the civic holiday everyone else gets the first Monday of August. Quebeckers do take off two weeks at the end of July for the �construction holiday�, so it�s not as though they�re lacking for down time (or beach time). The very fact that I�m talking about this inane stuff means that I�m pretty desperate to make use of that white box when it appears, doesn�t it?

Last night we had our very last writing group until next September. It was a little bitter-sweet in that way. Unfortunately two of our staunchest members didn�t show: Patsy and Bruce. Patsy assured me the night before that she would be there. I will call her to find out what happened. One of the exercises was to get in touch with our inner Coyote, and I ended up writing a poem which everyone really, really liked. Poetry is not my usual thing, I prefer prose. Coyote is supposed to make us do the unexpected, liberate us from the mundane, and maybe that�s why this piece of creative writing worked so well. I will post it in my other blog when I�ve cleaned it up a bit and I�ll let you know it�s there. One of my writing-group colleagues liked it so much she wants a copy too. That�s very encouraging.

The sun has just come out, so I better go do laundry. Sigh�

|

<~~~ * ~~~>