Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Tapping into the salt of the earth.

Saturday, Jun. 19, 2004
8:32 a.m.
The weird thing is that when I hit the �add an entry� button this early in the day, I always get the white box. But if I wait for when I actually have something to write about, it takes about 25 tries.

The olives are considerably less salty this morning. They are draining right now in a colander, to be dealt with later. It rained copiously last night, entailing anothor mad rush around the house to close windows. This one was accompanied by thunder and lightening, although not much. It did set me on edge, though, as I lay there under the covers with my eyes shut, feigning sleep. Believe it or not, I still haven�t dug up my backyard garden, and I had planned to do it this morning. Now the ground is too wet. So my tomato plants continue to sojourn in their pot and my basil remains unsown. This is not an auspicious beginning to my annual pesto fest.

We now really do have hot water. The breaker flipped again after the plumber had installed a new relay, and I ended up calling him, also to let him know that his attempts to desqueal the kitchen tap had been in vain. He came by yesterday and ended up putting in a new element, but had to drain the tank beforehand. Hence, all the sediment that has been building up in there for the past 14 years finally escaped along with the rest of the water, and when I went downstairs I noticed that the floor around the drain is covered with this gray shit. The instructions I�ve read in various places are to drain out that crap every couple of years or so, but we had never done it, and our plumber had countersuggested it because every time you open the valve on your tank, you are inviting a leak to happen. But we live in an area where the water has a high mineral content, and you can just imagine what 14 years� worth of sediment looked like.

As for the kitchen tap, he�s going to have to replace the whole unit. The lubricant didn�t do anything to stop the squealing. It seems to me that before Brumalia, I was asking for a new kitchen faucet. Norm talked Hubby out of buying a new one, and actually fixed the old one, for a month or so. Well, it turns out we should have got a new one all along. Sometimes Mom really does know best.

(Please click one back for my tapenade tap dance, if you haven�t already read it!)

|

<~~~ * ~~~>