Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

White box first time, must take advantage�

Thursday, Jun. 17, 2004
12:30 p.m.
I just got back from brunch with Em & El (their real names are similar enough, but too long, so this is what I�m calling them from now on) at Eggsquis, a restaurant devoted to the preparation of, you guessed it, breakfast. All three of us ordered �La Duchesse�, or something like that, a trio of pancakes smothered in fruit and cr�me anglaise. There was more food on that plate than would reasonably feed my whole family. Each pancake was the size of a dinner plate practically (I only ended up eating about half of one) so I scarfed down the blueberries, strawberries, raspberries and sliced banana, trying to avoid as much of the cream as possible. Even El, who is a �big� girl, didn�t finish all of hers either. Em got about half-way through before calling it quits.

We chatted about this and that, their plans for the summer, what they�re doing in the fall (Em is finished but will be taking a few courses for �fun� and El has another year in the music department and then a year to get her teaching certificate), and of course I had to update them on the tenure-track situation. They were pretty disappointed to find out that the sessional guy had been hired, but El has promised me that she will be extra vigilant and make sure she documents any infractions he commits. The evaluation committee is supposed to look at the whole picture when tenure time comes around. We can hope, anyway.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>