Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

No movie tonight in my coffee�

Wednesday, Jun. 16, 2004
10:13 p.m.
No, I am not at the movies watching The Day After Tomorrow because the newspaper lied, as did the marquee outside the cinema. The film in question is only playing in its French-dubbed version, the version originale having left last week. Blood and ashes! So we have saved a substantial sum in admission fees and popcorn prices by renting a different film at B1ockbuster to watch on our 55" screen with the surround-sound speakers.

As you guessed, I am not watching that movie either, simply because it is now too late and I am too tired, and I�m no longer interested. The Day After Tomorrow will go on our refrigerator list and when it becomes available on DVD, we will rent it and watch it at home. That�s just the way things go around here in francophoneland.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

I feel I should say something about hyperacusis, at least how it affects me. The link in my previous update describes it as pretty debilitating, every noise being amplified to painful levels. In my case, it is only very high sounds that give me problems: whistling, boiling kettles, squealing faucets, alarm systems, fluorescent lights, and piccolos. For the most part I can avoid these sounds. If someone is whistling nearby, I simply ask him to stop. Don�t turn the tap on full pressure, and it won�t squeal. Take the kettle off the heat before it gets to the noisy stage. Don�t listen to Souza marches. Some things are unavoidable, and it�s not always possible to ask someone not to whistle, or to get commercial establishments to turn off their overhead lighting. The symptom is pain in my head. Stop the high-pitched sound, the pain stops too. Simple. As a musician and a coloratura soprano, this is not a good affliction to have.

So, this brings us back to the kitchen tap. It is still squealing, even after I let the hot water run for quite a while to allow whatever lubricant Norm put in there to grease up the parts well. I am not pleased. He won�t be either when I call him tomorrow and tell him the unhappy news. However, we do have hot water, and I am extremely pleased about that.

My two students who love me have invited me out for brunch tomorrow morning. I am so incredibly tickled.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>