Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A walk on the wild side.

Friday, Jun. 4, 2004
5:17 p.m.
I really ought to get out more. I rewarded myself for getting caught up to Hubby (I told him I would soon leave him in the musical dust) by taking a walk into town to do some banking and pick up the new Sears catalogue at the variety store. The sun shone, the birds sang, I perspired in my overdressed state, and generally had a wonderful time.

As always I bumped into people I know, which is one reason for getting out more. After my visit to the bank I met a woman who was in my goddess class last term. She�s directing Shaw�s Arms and the Man as her own personal project this summer, having cashed in a R.R.S.P. so as not to have to seek gainful employment. I gave her my card telling her I would love to go out for a beer sometime, so the ball is now in her court.

At the health-food store where I stopped in for a wild-cherry-flavoured carbonated beverage from the cooler I met Roderick, the former owner by two of the store. He had it when we first moved here, and I was in there much more than I am now, so we became good buddies. He�s 83, looks great, and is still running a health-food store in Sh�brooke. Such a sweet man. He recognized me, which just goes to show how much I�ve changed in the last several years.

Coming back from the variety store I saw my student who calls me �mom� on the other side of the street, so he crossed over and joined me, since he was headed to the U. He�s in a musical production that�s earning him a cool six credits and is taking up most of his life. They go into production in a week and a half. It�s also his 23rd birthday today.

The rest of the walk home was hot but lovely. I saw tiny squirrels playing in the trees and as I walked by my friend the ceramicist�s house, I realized that her dogs are getting old. They ran up to the fence and started barking at me when I was practically already past the house, then kept it up in their old-dog voices for a whole minute when I was already far up the hill.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>