Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

No fireworks tonight due to rain.

Monday, May. 24, 2004
10:56 p.m.
It has been raining all day. I remarked to Little Princess when I picked her up from her girlfriend�s place that everything is so incredibly green and lush looking, and just two months ago everything was covered with snow, mounds and heaps of it. I had to stop for two deer crossing the road last night and the pungent aroma of skunk has been evident of late. Spring is finally here, the lilacs are blooming, the lily of the valley is starting to scent the air, and I�m feeling at a loss. I do this every spring. I look around me at the burgeoning of nature and feel the futility of life, the meaningless of existence. Don�t worry, I usually snap out of it in a week or two.

Little Princess had her share of adventures last night as she legally hit the bars. Wellington Street was not hopping, being a Sunday night, but was hopping more than normal considering that today is Victoria Day. She and her friends wandered from bar to bar, partaking of shooters and other alcoholic beverages, finally ending up at Palais du Caf� where they danced until the bar closed at 3 a.m. Then they waited a long time for a taxi (the first one was nabbed by someone else, much to their dismay) and went back to Josie�s house. When I picked her up she smelled like an ashtray and fried food. The former because Josie�s parents both smoke excessively, and the latter because breakfast had consisted of bacon, eggs and French toast. I had to open the windows, even though it was raining, because the odour she exuded overwhelmed the enclosed space in the car. Phew!

Hubby has started work on his new viola concerto and I am copying the parts as he finishes manuscript pages instead of the score, since the first few measures are extremely complex, unmetered stuff, impossible to get the program to do what I want, and even doing the parts I have been spending close to a half-hour just on the first measure. It�s getting easier as I go, and thankfully only small sections of the piece are like that. He keeps telling me I should upgrade my program since the newer version is supposed to be able to deal with this kind of notation (I don�t see how, all the changes that I read about in the literature are for the MIDI aspect of the software), but that would entail getting new hardware (can you believe I�m still running System 7.2.1 on my Macintosh Quadra?) and all my old files would need reformatting. Forget it. I�ll stick with what I�ve got for the time being.

Belly dancing class tonight was nice and sparse. Patsy is still in England visiting her sister and the others must have thought we wouldn�t be meeting on Victoria Day. Wrong! It was very nice finally having room to move in and being able to see myself in the mirror. Usually I get behind people and can�t see either myself or the instructor. I think only six of us showed up. We�ve been working on technique and new moves, and I�m starting to get the hang of certain movements that seemed impossible before. Tonight was the first time Lise actually said I was doing something �parfait�, and I felt all warm and fuzzy inside.

And on that happy note, I will go to bed.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>