Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Old Man River, just keeps rolling along.

Friday, May. 14, 2004
11:52 a.m.
Here I am at the University of Lethbridge, on the banks of the Old Man River in southern Alberta. We arrived on Tuesday night, rented a car and drove from Calgary, which took almost three hours, in a snow storm, and while the clock said 1:30 a.m., our bodies said it was 3:30 a.m. Luckily, we got to sleep in the next morning. I needed to practise, so asked the hotel management (everyone is so nice here!) if I could use the baby grand in the bar. Sure, no problem! So there I was, surrounded by vacuum cleaners, a fountain and flowing water, fig trees and other warm-climate vegetation, the radio playing at the bar itself, and I couldn�t hear myself to save my life. I kept going flat. It was extremely frustrating. However, when I got back to the hotel room where Hubby had been practising guitar, he said that he (and I guess all the other hotel guests) could hear me. I have since practised at the university.

The stewardess on the plane told us some cute jokes:

1. Two cats decided to have a swimming race across a stream. One cat was called �One-two-three� and the other was named �Un-deux-trois�. So, you�re probably wondering who won the race. One-two-three did, because Un-deux-trois cat sank.

2. A man was leaning out of his apartment window to see what the weather was like, when a glass eye fell from several stories above, which he deftly caught in his hand. He looked up and noticed a beautiful woman leaning over the railing. He went upstairs, returned her eye, and then asked her out for dinner since she she was so beautiful. Dinner went very well, and as he was taking her home, she invited him into the apartment for a drink. He entered, and she promptly went to the bedroom and returned in a sexy neglig�e. He was a little taken aback by her forwardness, and asked her if she was like this with every guy she dated. She said, �No, just the ones who catch my eye.�

I�ve been having a wonderful time here, hobnobbing with my fellow wizards. I feel like a real scholar at times, people actually paying attention to what I have to say, as though I�m qualified or something. Ah well, it�s all in the timing, don�t you know. This afternoon Hubby and I have our dress rehearsal to which we have invited some people who won�t be here tomorrow, including Tom our good buddy from MUN. It has been such a pleasure seeing him. I passed on Jenn�s regards, and he was pleased to get them. So I feel as though we get to perform our programme twice, which is much better than once.

I�ve been in this computer lab for more than an hour now, reading my emails and my buddy list, so I really ought to go find myself some lunch before the 1:00 p.m. concert. I probably won�t have another opportunity to update before I return on Sunday night, so this is it for now.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>