Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The old gray mare et cetera

Monday, May. 10, 2004
5:05 p.m.
I have still not dyed my hair. There just hasn�t been time! I figure I�ll pack the stuff in my suitcase and do it in my hotel room on Wednsday morning. Let the maid deal with the mess I leave in the bathroom! (Actually, knowing myself and my respect for those poor women who work in the �hospitality� trade, I will probably have the mess cleaned up to the point that she will never know what dirty deed went down except for the plastic gloves and the spent box and plastic bottle in the trash.) My in-laws have not yet arrived, which makes me a little anxious. Except for the upstairs bathroom (which I was going to clean when I had the dye in my hair), the house is spotless. I even took the cushions off the sofa and vacuumed up the crud underneath. I found a couple of dimes, my reward for the extra work.

Actually, the house is not spotless. I did not clean the oven or the cupboards, all of which I had intended to do. It�ll be something to �look forward to� upon my return. My mom called today, having been discharged from the hospital and is now at home. She has cancelled her trip out here. I understand perfectly and am in complete agreement. When we head out to southwestern Ontario for Hubby�s highschool reunion later this month we will visit her.

The last candidate in the job search is being interviewed as we speak, and I am wrought up about this whole business. It�s crazy, I know, but I feel as though I�ve been living in a Henry James novel: no attempts were made to communicate important issues because of politeness, or unwillingness to hurt feelings, or whatever, and now they have come back to bite me in the ass. Perhaps when it�s all over I can talk about it more freely, but Hubby has asked me to keep details out of my diary. Suffice it to say that a few parties in this business are like the blind man examining the elephant. They are right about what they know, but they don�t know enough to get the �big picture�, and are bent on making the �right� decision without realizing how wrong it will be. Perhaps a week away from here is just what the doctor ordered.

Oh, speaking of hair, I saw a woman at Costco this afternoon with completely gray hair. It was long and straight with bangs and she had a young face and a slim figure, and she was absolutely beautiful. The actual colour of her hair was like pewter, and it was gorgeous. Can I do this too?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>