Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The party�s over�

Sunday, May. 9, 2004
9:27 p.m.
We have in our town an excellent Indian restaurant which has an all-you-can-eat buffet Sunday evening. This is where I wanted to go for Mother�s Day dinner. This is not where I ended up. The man has been eating at Shalimar so frequently because of the job search that he is heartily sick of the place and really wanted to go elsewhere. But instead of saying, �Isn�t there someplace else you�d rather go, dear, seeing as how I�ll be eating there again tomorrow night?� he blurted out, �Do we have to go to Shalimar? I�m so sick of it!� making me feel bad because I hardly ever go there and that�s really where I would have liked to have gone. Even the kids agreed with me on this one.

So we headed into downtown Sh�brooke to the middle-eastern restaurant we ate at on my birthday, only to discover that it is closed on Sundays. I was all ready to turn around and go home, frankly, and heat up a pizza I was so hungry, but Hubby said we should try the Vietnamese restaurant that we couldn�t get into last time we tried because we didn�t have a reservation. Luckily they had room for us, and as soon as I got some nourishment into me I started to feel better. The low blood sugar combined with the stress of life had made me into a total bitch, but then again, I had witnesses and they were on my side.

We arrived home just a little while ago, and Hubby presented me with a funny card and a beautiful art book of Haida art with the most gorgeous photographs. As I recall, I got angry with him because he was taking so long in the gift shop at the museum last week, and then he wouldn�t let me see what he was buying. Then I conveniently forgot about it, but this is what it was. I had been so incredibly impressed with the totem poles and the sculptures by Bill Reid that he decided to get me this book. How sweet and thoughful! Now if only he could figure out how to phrase things so that I didn�t blow up at him whenever he opened his mouth.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>