Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Happy Mother�s Day to all you mothers out there.

Sunday, May. 9, 2004
10:24 a.m.
Ah, the joys of motherhood. Buddy Boy gave me a homemade card this morning and pulled the refrigerator out so I could clean underneath and behind it, and get rid of the blanket of dust coating the top of it. Then he pushed it back. See, boys are good for something! He even offered to help should I request it from him for further cleaning jobs, of which there are plenty. The in-laws are arriving, sans Uncle Al, tomorrow early afternoon, and hopefully the house will be spick and span. I make no guesses as to how long that state of pristineness will last, but it will probably be longer than normal since Hubby and I will be gone and his mom will be in charge. The kids did finally clean their rooms yesterday, although I didn�t make a thorough inspection. No need to discourage them by expressing dissatisfaction and disappointment.

Last night was closing night of Buddy Boy�s play. I was extremely tired and not paying much attention, I confess, but it seemed to go well. I�ve always found that the third night of the play is the best, and if it continues it only improves. Opening night is always a little tentative, but carried over by the adrenalin; the second night the actors are exhausted and feeling a little �cocky�, perhaps; but by the third night they have the bugs worked out and are really starting to �get into� their r�les. And then it�s over. Alas.

My darling daughter is still abed, or at least her bedroom door is shut tight. Buddy Boy is playing his guitar, Hubby is at the other computer typing up his notes for tomorrow�s interview, and I am trying to decide if I should dye my hair this morning or tomorrow.

Thanks for all the notes you wonderful people have been leaving me. It really means a lot to me. And now I�m going to call my mother and wish her a Happy Mother�s Day.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>