Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Letting go, sort of

Saturday, May. 8, 2004
2:52 p.m.
As a result of all the stresses enumerated in my earlier entry of today, I have started alienating my family members. Somehow Little Princess got totally left out of the loop concerning her grandmother�s status, and didn�t know she was in the hospital. There has been so much going on here and Little Princess is home so rarely these days that I guess I just thought she knew, that I had already told her, or her dad had, or something. But she didn�t know, just found out this morning as a matter of fact, and had a teenage hissy fit because I have been incredibly bitchy. It culminated in the outburst, �I don�t want to live here anymore!�

So, I had to take her aside and have an earnest talk with her about what is going on in my life and how she has to accept that I am not going to be all sweetness and light when I am amazed that my insides haven�t burst out of my skin with all the pressure building up inside. We were both crying by the end of it, which is a very cathartic experience, had a big hug, and then I called my mom at the hospital and let them talk. So I hope I have averted disaster, or at least my daughter moving out the instant she turns 18.

My fridge is clean. It has never been so clean. Well, maybe when it was first purchased, but that�s a while ago. Even the freezer is clean. Gone is the jar of pickled vegetables, the hazelnuts in their sticky bag, the can of sweetened, condensed milk slowly souring and the bag of parsnips turning into a disgusting mass of humus in the crisper. There�s a half-bottle of Wolfberger champagne with a Starfrit� stopper in it which is on its way out, now that I think of it. It�s been there since New Year�s Eve. You sometimes just have to let go of the past.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>