Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

And now a word from our sponsor:

Wednesday, May. 5, 2004
9:44 a.m.
The attic where I rest my derri�re is now free of the dead flies and other disgusting dusty dirty detritus (enough with the alliteration, already) that has been clogging up my mind. I even managed to dust some surfaces, and I now feel mightily vindicated. Next I tackle the second floor if I can manage not to be distracted by the siren call of the magic box. I cannot believe how much time I waste sitting on said derri�re with my eyes glued to this screen. Some days I need to scrape them off with a rubber spatula which I keep on hand for that purpose.

Seriously folks, I want to thank again all of you who answered my question about marriage: saucy99, eggsaucted, harri3tspy, kris-tee, and dandylioneyes. The person I really want to hear from here is ladybug-red, since I think she has several interesting takes on the subject. What I seem to have gleaned in general is that people whose own parents weathered a successful marriage and demonstrated useful strategies for dealing with the inevitable conflicts that arise are more likely themselves to take the plunge into that ocean of unknown possibilities. Those who witnessed the dissolution of their parents� marriage are either hesitant to enter into a state of matrimony for fear the same thing will happen to them, or get married anyway, but without the sense that it is a life-long commitment, since they have seen that it need not be.

Marriage is scary. There have been many times during the last 22 years when I have asked myself if I did the right thing. But the answer I always get back is �yes�. What good is academic, political or economic success if there is no one to share it with, only cats to come home to or worse, a refrigerator in need of cleaning? Human beings are social animals, we need the contact, the appreciation and the love of our fellows, and we especially need to be singled out by one special individual who makes us feel special in turn. The physical aspect, i.e. sex, is only one aspect of that relationship, but it seems to be a very important one for establishing intimacy and exclusivity, especially at the beginning.

I shall leave on that note, obeying the subliminal call of the vacuum cleaner (or is the dust bunnies under my bed?). I�d like to teach the world to sing in perfect harmony, I�d like to buy the world a Coke� and keep it company.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>