Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I feel pretty, oh so pretty!

Wednesday, May. 5, 2004
10:27 p.m.
My bedroom hasn�t been so clean in ages! I dusted, I vacuumed, I tidied, I threw out stuff. I finally altered the overpriced dress and jacket I bought at �a clique. I was so tempted to just turn the sleeves under and hemstitch them, and then I decided against it, opened up the lining and did the job right. I even reinforced the edges with iron-on interfacing. For the shoulders of the dress, though, I took the easy way out and just stitched them where the lady in the store had marked them. Mind you, I was oh so circumspect about the whole thing, basting first, trial stitching next, before finally making a seam, trimming and overcasting. I had to shorten the sleeves by two and-a-quarter inches. I guess I really can�t return these garments now, can I?

The man�s fancy flight case arrived today from New York by courier, and it doesn�t fit the guitar. This is very, very sad. This also means that we have a problem. The guitar teacher from UdeS, who lives in Montreal, had offered him the use of her case, and he has decided to take her up on it. We will leave an hour earlier to get to her place, try out the case and leave his good hard-shell with her. But, in the event her case doesn�t fit properly, we will have a roll of bubblewrap handy, and will wrap his hard-shell case with it and plaster FRAGILE stickers all over it. Dang! Why couldn�t he have foreseen this a month ago and had a custom case made then? MEN!

There�s a party Friday night celebrating the ratification of the new collective agreements and BU�s support staff joining the APBU. I think I�ll wear my new ensemble and I plan on dancing until I get blisters. I�ve also decided on my attire for our noon-hour concert in Lethbridge, a navy, ankle-length, faux-wrap skirt without a waistband that was extremely slimming when I needed it, and just looks very elegant now that I don�t. I�ll pair it with a nice blouse and that should do it.

Speaking of slimming, I have discovered that there are clothes in my closet that no longer fit me. There were clothes that I couldn�t get into, and I made all those vests to camouflage waistbands left unbuttoned and unsightly bulges. They are all too big now. It is truly amazing. I mean, I can still wear them, but I don�t really need to. Take heart saucy99, it can be done!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>