Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Flibbertyjib

Tuesday, Apr. 27, 2004
11:40 p.m.
Yes, we wrote tonight, just the three of us: Janice, Patsy and myself. Where were the guys, Chris and Bruce? Paying hommage to April being National Poetry Month, Janice steered us in a poetical direction. Our warm-up write, though, was 15 minutes about beds. I waxed philosophical about flower beds. Maybe I should incude these things here. Maybe not. If I think one is particularly good, maybe I will.

Anyway, the next exercise was quite difficult. We copied a short poem from a book of poetry (Janice had several available for the purpose) into our notebooks, triple spaced, and we were to write responses to it. The instructions were to copy the poem in pencil and then erase it later and just be left with the responses. I have a really hard time with poetry. I prefer prose. After analyzing my poem I wrote a prose story that I felt responded to it. The third exercise was to write a ghazal. That was interesting, and not quite successful, since it�s difficult to constrain yourself so severely and be creative at the same time. We were done early, since there were so few of us, and stayed to chat a bit. I gave Patsy a ride home before hieing myself in that direction.

Well, I�m done here. Toodles.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>