Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Come chat with me!

Thursday, Apr. 22, 2004
7:36 a.m.
Last night my Diaryland usage entered a new phase: I entered a chatroom and chatted therein. I counseled a 13-year-old girl about her social problems and chatted with a couple of older teens on the verge of graduating high school and venturing into the summer job market. I dispensed advice to a 26-year-old graphic artist in a dead-end relationship. Hubby heard me tapping away on the computer keyboard and asked me what was going on over there? I just couldn�t pull myself away, I felt so incredibly useful!

Chatrooms always impressed me as being like trying to have a conversation at a very crowded and noisy cocktail party, where there are many different threads happening and you can�t help eavesdropping on other dialogues. But somehow last night I ended up in the position where I was holding court. It was most interesting. The question foremost now in my mind is: Do I make a regular habit of this? It could become highly addictive, I think. I could hang out my shingle: Elgan�s Chatroom and Psychiatric Couch. Next!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>