Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Please call me Fred.

Friday, Apr. 16, 2004
5:41 p.m.
My dear friend harri3tspy has left me the following note: Because I have no imagination today, I'm asking the same three questions of everyone:

1. What is your favorite book and why?
2. What was the best day in your life so far and why?
3. If you could have picked your own first name, what would you choose?

1. I wish there were just one book that is my favourite, but alas, I have many loves. Possession by A.S. Byat, Weaveworld by Clive Barker, almost anything by Patricia McKillip and Ursula K. LeGuinn. The question is too hard.

2. The best day for me was when my husband brought our daughter to see me in the hospital after the birth of our son. She climbed up on my bed and snuggled up next to me. I had one arm around her, a baby boy cradled in the other, and my husband looking upon us adoringly. What could be more beautiful than that?

3. Were I able to choose my own name it would have to be something easy to spell and pronounce. My own name is constantly spelled wrong and mispronounced here in Quebec, and it is a name often given to a certain farm animal. I like the name Ann. It�s short and easy. Let�s go with that one.

And now I must set dandlioneyes straight on one particular thing, although I am flattered that she has made this error. I am not a grad student. I have never been and probably will never be one, not because I am intellectually inferior, but because I kept putting it off, using my motherhood as an excuse not to travel to a nearby city and stay overnight there so that I could get an M.A. or M.Mus. (more likely). Now that my kids are actually old enough that I can�t use them as an excuse any longer, I no longer have the desire to pursue higher education, nor the need. My university does not require me to have a Masters degree for the courses I teach, and I am getting to that age where it wouldn�t matter if I did. No, I am in the enviable position of being the spouse of a full-time professor and thus qualify for free tuition, so I can take courses at my leisure in subjects that interest me, such as fine arts and classics. If I ever put together enough credits to graduate with a second degree, I will consider it, but at the moment I am following the siren call of knowledge for knowledge�s sake. I hope you don�t think any less of me for this admission, but you did say you respected my honesty, and I couldn�t let you go around with that particular misconception.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>