Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A quizz, nothing more, nothing less.

Wednesday, Apr. 14, 2004
2:38 p.m.
I clicked on a banner and found the-book-bag. She had filled out a survey and, while I don�t usually answer surveys (I usually hang up the phone instead), I decided to copy and answer hers. So, here goes:

1. Describe your favorite pair of shoes.
The shoes that I wear are my favourites: the black leather pumps that cost $10, the red satin high-heeled sandals, my Naturalizer boots, my black Capezios, etc.

2. What was your favorite game to play at recess?
No one played with me at recess, so I have to draw a blank there.

3. What is under your bed right now?
Dust.

4. Do you always remember to floss?
I never floss, not because I don�t remember, but because I hate doing it. My teeth are fantastic without flossing.

5. What is the movie you never get tired of?
King of Hearts This is the best movie ever made, in my opinion. I have seen it many, many times, but was extremely disappointed the last time because it was dubbed into English. Bah!

6. Your favorite teacher ever?
Mr. Caulfield, my grade 7 and 9 geography teacher, was the fairest man I know. While I have had many excellent teachers who really made impressions on me, I remember him best of all of them.

7. What do/did you want to be when you grow up?
When asked that question in grade 1, I answered �teacher�, since that was really the only profession I knew, my father being one. As I grew up, the answer constantly changed. I wanted to be a painter, a writer, a psychologist, and a singer. I finally ended up being a singing teacher who paints and sculpts and writes and practices psychology on her friends and family. What could be better?

8. What's your favorite comic strip?
Soup to Nutz

9. Who was your best friend in grade school? Are you still friends?
In elementary school I hung out with a girl named Gloria Beck who I think I saw once many years afterwards. In junior high and high school my best friend was Monica Segal, whose first wedding I attended and whose acquaintance I remade around 13 years ago, and then she promptly disappeared from my life again.

10. Can you draw?
Extremely well, thank you.

11. Which do you prefer, chocolate or vanilla?
Chocolate, of course.

12. Do you want to have children?
I always wanted to have three children, but two by ceasarian section was plenty, thank you.

13. If you could be anywhere right now, where would you be?
I would love to be at Plumica, a lovely bed and breakfast on the shores of Georgian Bay, Ontario

14. You can only have one book for the rest of your life, which book is it?
It would have to be one with blank pages in which I could write, write, write.

15. Is that your natural hair color?
Um, it used to be my natural hair colour. Now I�m just helping it last a little longer.

16. What is the greatest vacation you ever went on?
In 1995 my husband and I spent a week in Israel and two weeks in Greece. We had a fabulous time.

17. Tell us something weird about yourself.
I�m a musician, musicians are weird. Isn�t that enough?

18. What kind of sleeping bag did you bring to sleepovers/campouts?
A warm one.

19. Do you know how to play chess?
I know how, but I�d rather not.

20. What did you do to celebrate your last birthday?
I went out with my husband and children to a middle-eastern restaurant and had the vegetarian plate.

21. What's the best Halloween costume you ever had?
I dressed up as Natasha from The Addams Family.

22. What is your favorite color?
I really like a purple so dark it�s almost black.

23. Do you have brothers or sisters?
I have two older brothers.

24. What type of residence do you live in (house, apartment, condo, car, cardboard box)?
I live in a New England-style house with a semi-finished basement and totally finished attic: four frigging floors to clean!

25. Is there anything you really want to learn (another language, a musical instrument, the history of Spain)?
Now that I�ve studied ancient Greek, I would like to relearn German. It�s a most emminently useful language and I think now it would be a breeze.

26. What's your favorite kind of dessert?
That�s a toughie. Chocolate mousse, applie pie, fruit compote, and have you ever tried barbecued peaches?

27. Have you ever been in love?
Ha ha ha ha ha!

28. Do you have any unusual fears or phobias?
I am afraid of smothering. Is that unusual?

29. What is your favorite phrase?
�Alrighty then!�

|

<~~~ * ~~~>