Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Not an April Fool�s joke, sorry

Thursday, Apr. 1, 2004
11:53 p.m.
Little Princess and I saw Mona Lisa Smile at Centennial Theatre tonight. I know it didn�t get the greatest reviews, but I thought it was a pretty good movie in its portrayal of women�s roles in a prosperous, post-war U.S.A. Interesting.

Other than that, there is absolutely nothing to write about. Well, not true. I just don�t feel up to it at this moment. But there is something that I wouldn�t mind getting off my chest.

Earlier today I was checking my email, and someone I had befriended in a Pyramids chatroom (don�t ask, it�s just too sordid) sent me one of those mass forwards, where the redirections take up more space than the actual message. It showed a young woman who had been the victim of a drunk driving accident who had received 3rd-degree burns to over 85% of her body. The driver was a 17-year-old boy who had been partying with his friends. There were pictures of this girl before the accident, and she was beautiful and happy. The pictures of her afterwards were so incredibly disturbing that when I closed my eyes I could see only them. She has no hair, no fingers, no left eyelid. The boy, now 21, has to live with the knowledge of what he wrought, but this young woman�s life is ruined. The message was that not everyone who gets hit by a drunk driver dies. Sometimes it�s much worse.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>