Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I am still short, but the other comparison to a teapot no longer applies.

Wednesday, Mar. 31, 2004
9:18 a.m.
This has to be quick because it�s Wednesday and the garbage must still be collected, the recycling assembled for curb-side deposition, and my lamia is calling in dulcet tones, �Sculpt me!� This is also going to be excruciatingly self-indulgent, for which I make no apology.

A while ago, I set myself a challenge to get back to the weight I maintained before I got pregnant the first time, and achieved briefly before the second time. (I�m still working on the gray hair as I figure that�s a long-term project and can�t be rushed.) As you know, I have been successful in the loss of approximately six pounds (which doesn�t sound like a helluvalot to you ordinary-height people out there, but is almost a dress size to a shorty like me) and have rewarded myself with the purchase of said leather pants.

Last November, just before Hubby�s and my recital, I was wondering what I would wear, and Little Princess offered me her prom dress, which I made for her and which is absolutely gorgeous. I know she has a picture somewhere on this computer, but I can�t find it to post so a verbal description will have to suffice. It�s red, strapless, shiny slinky satin, form fitting with a little train at the back. She wore it with a red feather boa draped around her neck. I received great compliments and much respect for having attempted the construction of such a thing. Hey! Like my mom always told me, if you can read and follow directions, you can do almost anything! Anyway, I tried it on, and decided I could not wear it. It was a McCall�s size 12 pattern, unaltered (except for length, Little Princess inherited the Elgan gene for diminutiveness), and it was too tight. I could not breathe, and my enormous boobs were in danger of popping out of the top, and in my opinion it looked sloppy. Instead I wore an off-white lace top (camisole underneath), red wool ankle-length skirt, and looked stunning none-the-less. No pictures, sorry.

This morning, as I waited for the bathtub to fill up, I had a crazy notion to try on Little Princess� dress. Guess what. It no longer is too tight. As a matter of fact, it is now too big. I am back to a McCall�s size 10 (where I was before all these babies started coming into my life), and I am ecstatic. So I started pulling all these dresses out of my closet which have hung there for years and started trying them on. They all fit. They are all gorgeous. Even the gray wool skirt I made which I wore once and then hung up forever because it was too tight is now wearable. The red �southern-belle� moir� taffeta dress I wore for my big premiere in Omaha feels loose, the little black dress I bought a year ago no longer requires that I consciously suck in my gut, and the hot yellow number I wore to my cousin�s wedding actually hangs the way the designer intended. Best of all, a peacock-blue, Chinese-style dress that I used to reserve for Hubby�s premieres is back on my �Wear List�. I now wonder what took me so long, and why?

I warned you this was going to be self-indulgent.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>