Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Rain, rain, go away�

Wednesday, Mar. 31, 2004
4:58 p.m.
It�s the last day of March, and unlike the proverbial lamb, it is going out like a wet fish. Rain, washing away what�s left of the snow, raising the river level dangerously. Part of me actually wants to see that flood happen because it is so spectacular when it does, and the sensible part of me is dreading such an event because of all the inconvenience it causes. We have not had a real flood here since 1993. It�s probably about time for one.

I only ended up getting an hour or so to work in the studio since I spent almost 10 minutes just looking for a place to park. But my piece is coming along exceptionally well. The sculpture professor is available next Monday so I can make my mould, and we can use it as a pedagogical opportunity since he�ll be in the middle of a class at the time.

I have it from my students that Herr Doktor Professor Choir Director is inflicting cruel and unusual punishment on these poor kids. He�s rehearsing them ragged, and those in small ensembles and choreographed pieces are spending all their time at practices and are unable to get to the library to finish assignments, or study, or whatever. A lot of them are also getting sick, and the concerts are this weekend coming. Thankfully they have cancelled the Thursday night show, which cuts it down to just three. But there�s only one week of classes left and then exams start early the next week. It�s exacerbated this year because of the strike, which put the choir a week behind in rehearsals, but still, Herr Doktor Professor should know better. It�s not like the spring concert is comprised of difficult music. What is wrong with this picture?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>