Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

She woke from a drugged stupor and dragged herself to the computer, unable any longer to ingore its siren call�

Saturday, Mar. 27, 2004
8:00 a.m.
Apparently I missed one of the best concerts of the year. This always happens! I hardly ever miss concerts, and when I do, they turn out to be the great ones. It was an ensemble of two violins, two gambas and one harpsichord, all female except for the keyboard player, and all very beautiful. Hubby said that if they didn�t make it in the music business they could go into modelling. Unfortunately he didn�t bring home a programme, but he said it was l-o-n-g. The programme didn�t end until 10:05 p.m., and then they played a bunch of encores. The reception afterwards stretched out, and one of the gamba players hit on him. She took his right hand in hers, noticed his long fingernails, and said, �Oh, you�re a guitarist!� Then she took his left hand, noticed his gold wedding band, and lost interest in him. I would have liked to be there just to see that exchange.

Earlier in the day he had gone to the liquor store and bought a bottle of Crown Royal, so I had a wee dram, sipping it slowly, hoping it wouldn�t cancel out the effects of the acetaminophen. I slept very well, and do feel better this morning, although I know I�m not out of the woods yet. But tonight is J-S�s grad recital, which I really want to attend. He�s a phenomenal bass player, both electric and upright, and he�s got a fine combo together, including Mike P. on guitar and Kevin O. on drums. So I will make an effort to go to this.

The next two weeks are going to be crazy around the music department. There is something practically every night: chamber music concert, composers forum, jazz ensemble, choir (three nights), visiting string quartet concert, string orchestra, several student recitals, plus Hubby�s premiere with the symphony a week tonight. The students are planning a cabaret for Easter weekend, juries are that Monday, and exams start Tuesday. My head just started hurting again. Time for more drugs!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>