Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The nose knows

Friday, Mar. 26, 2004
4:08 p.m.
I was all set to write interesting stuff, but the pain in my sinuses has pushed all other thoughts out of my head. I have been living on extra-strength acetaminophen, neocitran and fisherman�s friends. My American readers will have no idea what the latter item is, and I�m almost feeling perverse enough not to tell you, but first I�ll see if I can find an internet link. Hold on. Okay, get ready, �cause here it comes . In the words of one Afro-American comedian who did the usual round of jokes on �Madly Off in all Directions� about visiting Canada, it�s better than crack. However, nothing has been helping and I�m one unhappy camper.

I did make it to the studio recital at noon today since my Mexican student was singing. I nearly busted a gut when the accomanist started Antonio Lotti�s Pur dicesti, o bocca, bocca bella at about dirge tempo, and never did pick it up. Unfortunately my student had never informed her beforehand of the correct tempo (a little more allegro, por favor), and it never occurred to Fannie to ask, duh! Then Vlad and I went for lunch and I tried to explain to her what I explained to you yesterday, how I don�t think I can get past this basic contradiction in Buddhism of the impermanence of everything, but somehow the soul stays intact enough to be reincarnated.

Then I went grocery shopping, spent an inordinate amount of money on (gasp!) groceries, deposited my and Hubby�s strike pay at the bank, paid bills, and came home. Now Buddy Boy is making lemon bars in an attempt to impress the (female) cast members at the rehearsal tomorrow. He has chocolate-mint cookies planned for later. I tried to tell him that girls usually are more impressed by the boys who don�t try too hard to win their favour, and until he settles on the one girl he really wants to impress, he better make it look like he�s just a nice guy supplying treats for absolutely everyone. He�s not stupid, just horny.

And now I�m going to try to have a snooze, if my sinuses stop hurting long enough for me to stop thinking about them.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>