Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Winter is back. Boooo! Hisssssss!

Wednesday, Mar. 24, 2004
9:02 a.m.
Poor Jenn and Mark, coming home to freezing temperatures. At least when we got back from our trip to Greece it was May and glorious. But I seem to have developed a cough. I�d blame it on marching on the picket line, but I�ve suffered too many other injuries directly related to that activity to add one more to the roll. No flu or cold symptoms, just a deep chest cough. Weird in the extreme. Also rather painful. I worry because I have had pneumonia twice, and popular wisdom has it that you are more susceptible once having had it than not. Aieee! Cough syrup is good, though. I haven�t slept this well at night in ages.

Part of our discussion on Monday in goddess class � propos Laurel�s seminar was the empowerment of women, as a manifestation of the return of the goddess. I remarked that really, since the advent of the birth-control pill at the start of the sixties, women have started to come into their own since they weren�t slaves to the reproductive aspect of their physiology. I think that the popularization of sex and the glorification of the female orgasm is a good thing, but there are also problems, because not everyone is being �liberated� at the same rate. To this end, I am including a link to meeyapeede�s entry on this subject . She says it so well, that I think it�s definitely worth spreading around.

I think I�ve presented enough food for thought at the moment, and I must continue with my morning toilette so that I can get the garbage and recycling out on the curb before heading off to the U. But before I go, I must write about my crazy expenditure of yesterday. There is a women�s clothing store in downtown Sh�brooke called �a clique (which is part of a province-wide chain) which I had never visited but which Patsy had told me had very nice clothes and things were on sale. So, being in that part of the city I took a gander, and found they still had one rack of sale clothing left. There I found a really cute ensemble, the price slashed, that I tried on and really liked. It�s a short, sleeveless, round-necked dress with interesting seaming very flattering to the mature figure and a matching lined, blazer-type jacket. The fabric is a shiny, almost silver, gray, and it looked very good on me. Unfortunately, alterations are necessary, since the sleeves are too long (easy) and the dress has to be taken in at the shoulders and armholes (not so easy). I bought it. Now I�m asking myself how crazy I am. I said the prices were slashed, n�est-ce pas? The jacket was marked down from $335 to $135, the dress from $235 to $95. I still ended up paying $235 (before taxes) for an outfit that would probably have cost $100 to make from scratch, and which I have to alter to boot! Now I ask you seriously, do I need my head examined or what?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>