Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

So�tired�zzzzzzzzzz

Monday, Mar. 22, 2004
9:45 a.m.
I was freezing last night! It didn�t help that I stayed up late doing corrections to the score and parts of one of Hubby�s pieces dating from years ago (it�s amazing how these mistakes just keep getting missed, proofreading after proofreading), alternated with a slow game of literati (which I won, by the way). By the time I crawled between the covers, it was 1:00 a.m., and my warm husband was watching tennis on TV. Finally, after shivering alone for half an hour, I pulled on the woolen socks my mom so kindly sent me, and they helped warm me up. All I had to contend with then was the growling of my stomach. But I eventually slept, only to be awakened much too early this morning by the smell of baking bread coming from the breadmaker which I had previously programmed to provide us with a fresh loaf come morning. Unfortunately, the aroma wafts upstairs, assaults my slumbering senses, and wakes me up earlier than I�d hoped or dreamed.

I had planned on an early rising anyway (not that early!) since I had to take the car in for its 30,000 km oil change for 8:00 a.m. I am so glad we are not picketting now. It was -15�C out there, with a stiff wind. Not my idea of easy strolling weather. A young man who�s only been working in the esthetic department for a week drove me home, almost getting us killed on the autoroute when the car in front slowed down rather suddenly and he did not. My poor scattered curves, to quote my mom. Those Subarus have good brakes, that�s all I can say.

Upon my arrival home, the doorbell rang to reveal a man in an orange construction helmet who informed me most helpfully that the city is turning off the water at 10:00 a.m. for a possible seven (7) hours (!), so I proceeded to rush around, filling the kettle, my pasta pot and my dutch oven, and preparing buckets to facilitate toilet flushing once the reservoirs are emptied. Hey, we have three toilets in this house, that means three free flushes! I also had a load of laundry on and quickly calculated that it would be done rinsing before the shutoff time. I hate it when this happens!

And now, after a morning filled with so much excitement my eyes are closing of their own accord, I think I�ll crawl back into bed and stay there for an hour until I have to call the garage to come and get me so I can pick up my car. Oy.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>