Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Great news my friends:

Saturday, Mar. 20, 2004
9:29 a.m.
In today�s Montreal Gazette the lead story informs the public that homosexuals can now legally marry in Quebec. The only challenger to the Supreme Court�s provisional ruling two years ago was the Catholic church (no suprise there), and they were overruled because the court determined that times and attitudes have changed, and one religious body could not determine sexual and marriage practices for a substantial part of the voting public. What do you bet that Quebec experiences an influx in gay tourists who wish to marry and honeymoon here? Personally, I think this is fantastic news. As per my previous entry, who are we or anyone else to determine who can love?

There was a fine party last night at the community centre in our, the strikers on the picket lines, honour. Our executive put on a great spread of veggies and dip, cheeses and crackers, wine and beer. It was nice to see students at the party, as well as spouses and children of strikers. There was even a band consisting of one of our own guys who teaches drums and helps out with the jazz ensemble, and a bassist and guitarist of his acquaintance. Their repertoire was exclusively the stuff that I remember from my own misspent youth. We had a great time dancing. I wore my leather pants and a red sweater that left much of my chest exposed (no boobs, just chest), and I looked fine. I tried to get Hubby to wear his leather pants too, but he demured. Ah well, later.

According to Vlad, who has been through this before with the college, the second week on the picket line is the hardest. If you can get through that, the third week is on an upward curve. I certainly hope it doesn�t last that long. But I understand that even if we were to settle today, we wouldn�t be back to teaching on Monday; there would be a cooling-off period where the terms of our return are actually negotiated, like the repayment of unemployment benefits or medical insurance premiums. While we are not getting paid, all of that �other� stuff is also on hold.

I will try to treat the weekend as normally as possible. Buddy Boy has rehearsals all day at the high school, and Little Princess has an orchestra rehearsal this afternoon. So Hubby and I are going to try to get some afternoon delight in before he goes to play tennis at the indoor courts in Rock Forest. All the stress and uncertainty have really played havoc with our sex life, which could ill afford it in the first place. Hopefully I�ll be much more relaxed at suppertime!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>