Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I walk the line�

Wednesday, Mar. 17, 2004
1:30 p.m.
I walked the line again this morning, 9:00 to 10:30, and helped out a little with some typing at HQ. The concilliator called the APBU last night and set up a meeting for 11:00 this morning, so perhaps this afternoon we�ll have cause to celebrate at The Lion when we meet there at 6:00.

Unfortunately, I seem to have contracted a rather painful case of tendonitis in my left wrist from holding the placard aloft. At least, that�s the only explanation I can think of for it. I�ve iced it and taken ibuprofen, but it still hurts like hell.

If you check out this website you can read recent news items and see some pictures taken of the student show of solidarity yesterday. There are also pictures on the CAUT website, although some of them don�t load properly. Somehow I�m not in any of them, maybe because I�m so short the guy with the camera just missed me totally, or else these were shot on someone else�s shift.

We�ve been stationed at the eastern entrance of the university, near the sports centre and right next to the football field, off of which a brisk wind was making life miserable this morning. Our marshall kept making cracks about awaiting the Mongolian hordes coming across the Asian steppe.

Before I go, since even typing is an arduous task right now, I just want to say that I can�t imagine what it would be like to be a trucker, say, or a construction worker on strike. What do these guys talk about? I have had such interesting conversations with scholars and researchers about their fields of study and their projects, conversations I would not normally have had since I never would have met these people in my day-to-day dealings at the university. In many respects this strike has brought us closer together as an academic body, and that is a good thing.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>