Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

When the clock strikes twelve, do we strike too?

Sunday, Mar. 14, 2004
5:26 p.m.
The girls� recital is done; I can relax on that count now. Em did as well or better than I could have hoped, and she certainly looked good. El sang very nicely, made lots of mistakes without batting an eye, and I can only praise her accompanist who covered for her on every instance. Her parents made a lovely reception for her afterwards, and for my pains Em gave me a nice bottle of wine and a set of wine-glass stemrings, and El gave me a little thank-you angel and a lovely card.

The lights were on across the way, though, indicating that the union and corporation negotiators were going at it in an effort to find a solution so that this strike will not happen. I keep checking my email and the APBU website to see if there is any news, but so far it is fear of the unknown that affects me. My students will not suffer in the long run, since they are entitled to a certain number of lessons and I am obligated to deliver them; I will not suffer because I will be paid for the number of lessons according to my contract. I don�t know how professors will make up classes, though, especially seminar classes like my goddess course. We are not alone. One of our students who is taking a religion course said that their�s are all student presentation classes too. Let us not be downheartened too soon, there could still be an eleventh-hour solution.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>