Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow creeps in its petty pace�

Sunday, Mar. 14, 2004
3:49 p.m.
Hubby got home safe and sound yesterday in time for supper. The launch went really well and he got to have dinner with his sister and her husband, and stayed over two nights with his brother and sister-in-law. He brought his Gibson Les Paul with him, and jammed for hours with his brother on bass. They had a hoot. He told me that his sister-in-law and her sister were truly impressed by his guitar-playing facility and said that he should really be playing in a rock band. For real None of this serious composer, art music stuff. No no, a rock band for my leather-panted husband with his D.M.A. in composition from a respected American university and Op. 65 just about to be premiered. I nearly busted a gut laughing when I heard it. Well, I guess if he�s really strapped for employment, it�s always an option.

We went to see MacBeth again last night. Buddy Boy was very fine again, but got a little upset afterwards when we said, �Sure you can go to the closing-night cast party, we�ll pick you up at midnight.� He had the impression that he, a not-quite-yet-15-year-old boy could hang out with university students while they get drunk and debauched, and have a great time while remaining sober and undebauched. He is also determined that he�s going to school on the morrow, and if he�s up past midnight, he�ll be totally useless. He knows this, but is prepared to accept those consequences in order to party with his fellow cast members. He doesn�t realize that he�s not really one of them, and might actually dampen the mood if they feel they have to tone it down because a minor is present.

Two of my students had their final lessons today, and will perform their joint recital this evening. Now that it is totally out of my hands, I can relax. I�m sure they�ll do fine. At least, I say that, knowing that there are problems that won�t be fixed before tonight, some serious problems like singing in tune, getting the right rhythms consistently. Oh well, as I said, there�s nothing I can do now. It�s totally up to them.

No news yet on whether or not we strike tomorrow morning. The strike headquarters are all set up; there have been memos about parking and picket-line duty. I really, really hope we do not strike. I finished my Medusa seminar this morning and made my ornament for the goddess tree yesterday, so I�m all set for that class. I will be sorely disappointed if I can�t deliver my seminar. My ornament is very cool. I made it from Fimo, which I had never worked with before. A dark brown face surrounded by red snakes (which I made by squishing the Fimo through a garlic press) sits on golden wings. It turned out quite well. I used correction fluid to paint the whites of her eyes, and even included a wire for hanging. The face is brown because Medusa was originally a Libyan serpent goddess, the snakes are red because of their association with menstrual blood, and the wings are golden because I liked the colour and it provides a nice contrast.

And, before I go, everyone drop in to wilberteets and leave your well wishes for her chihuahua Dagget.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>